FESPACO Winners Screening at Africa in Motion 2021

25th October 2021


Congratulations to all filmmakers selected for the 27th edition of the Pan-African Film and Television Festival of Ouagadougou! FESPACO is the largest African film festival in the world and is bi-annual. It took place from 16 to 23 October 2021. We are thrilled to be screening films or filmmakers that won prizes in our progamme this year, and are also screening work that was selected for the official FESPACO programme:

- ZINDER by Aicha Macky (Niger) won two awards: a Special prize - the Best woman filmmaker of West Africa (Prix speciaux: La meilleure femme cinéaste de l'Afrique de l'Ouest) and the Special woman prize, ambassador for peace (Prix spécial femme, ambassadrice de paix).

GARDERIE NOCTURNE by Moumouni Sanou (Burkina Faso) won the Gold standard documentary feature film

ETHEREALITY by Kantarama Gahigiri (Rwanda) won the Poulain d’Or documentary short film award. This film was selected for our Short Film Competition.

– We are screening Amil Shivji's WAHENGA (Tanzania) this year. Shivji was awarded the Oumarou Ganda Prize for his latest film “Tug of War” which world- premiered at Toronto International Film Festival in September 2021.

- We are screening Samantha Biffot's THE AFRICAN WHO WANTED TO FLY (Gabon) this year. Biffot won the second prize (prix de la meilleure série TV) for best TV series: Mami Wata : Le mystère d’iveza.

 Films screening in our 2021 edition that were selected for the official FESPACO programme:

- JANITOU by Amine Hattou (Algeria)

- JUJU STORIES by Michael Omonua, Abba Makama, C.J. Obasi (Nigeria)

- MOFIALA by Boris Kpadenou (Togo)

- THE COLONEL'S STRAY DOGS by Khalid Shamis (Libya, South Africa, Qatar)

- THE LEGEND OF LWANDA MAGERE by Kwame Nyong'o (Kenya)

- WHEN A FARM GOES AFLAME by Jide Tom Akinleminu (Nigeria, Germany)

Films screened in last year's Africa in Motion Festival that won awards are:

BAAMUM NAFI by Mamadou Dia (Senegal): Alassane Sy won the Best Actor Award.

THIS IS NOT A BURIAL, IT IS A RESURRECTION by Jeremiah Lemohang Mosese (Lesotho) won the Image prize

NUIT DEBOUT by Nelson Makengo (DRC) won the Bronze foal short film.

– THE LETTER by Maia Lekow and Chris King (Kenya) won the Prix spécial paix et securité (Special Peace and Security Prize)